- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
United States History from 1865 to the Present
United States History from 1865 to the Present
Subject:
Course number:
HST 106
Get Started
Biographical Directory for the United States Congress
Searchable index by name, state, position, party, and years in Congress. Covers 1774-present.
[More details]
Credo Reference - US History
is a collection of reference articles related to US History.
[More details]
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political HistoryAvailable as an e-book or in print (Reference Collection E183 .E53 2010)
Class in America : an encyclopedia Reference HN90.S6 C564 2007
Search the Library Catalog
United States History Subject Headings
Browse these subect headings and sub-headings. Click on the headings to find library holdings such as books, government documents, movies, and more. You'll also want to do a keyword search to find appropriate headings for your specific topic.
[More details]Statistics
Historical Statistics of the United States
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
[More details]This resource allows you to create tables of data to track changes over time or in various locations.
Government Resources
HeinOnline
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.
[More details]HeinOnline is the best source for legal and government documents. It includes digital versions of the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, a library of U.S. Congressional documents, U.S. Federal legislative history and much more.
Congressional Record
Official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily while Congress is in session. Each daily issue is published with a summary of the day's floor and committee activities. Provides record volumes from 1994 to present.
[More details]provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Recommended Article Databases
These databases also contain other secondary sources such as theses, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more.
America: History & Life
Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.
[More details]Covers the United States & Canada. Note: Allows 6 users at a time. Please try again later if you are not able to access this resource.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.
[More details]Covers the history of the world, excluding the United States & Canada. Note: Allows 6 users at a time. Please try again later if you are not able to access this resource.
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]Full-text access to an archive of over 165 history and 58 law journals. Typically excludes the latest 3-5 years of publication.
Google Scholar
Search engine for scholarly literature such as articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.
[More details]is a specialized Google search that broadly searches for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. It also provides information on how often the publication is cited by other publications. Use while you are on-campus for access to Randall Library's full-text resources.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.
[More details]A multidisciplinary database that contains scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.
Coverage Dates: 1905 - Present
Contains law journals, Congressional documents, and other legal and government documents.
General, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. 1970-present.
Primary Sources
- Search the Randall Library catalog (and other libraries) for history makers' names as authors. This should retrieve their memoirs, diaries and correspondence. :
- As you search subject topics in the catalog, note that the following subdivisions indicate primary source (* indicates it can be used with individuals' names,classes of persons [e.g., soldiers], and organizations) :
- Archives *
- Caricatures and cartoons
- Correspondence *
- Diaries *
- Early works to 1800
- Facsimilies
- Interviews
- Newspapers [e.g., African Americans -- Newspapers]
- Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
- Pamphlets
- Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
- Photographs
- Pictorial works
- Songs and music
- Sources
- Speeches, addresses, etc.*
- Treaties
- More suggestions can be found on the "Primary Sources" guide.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Resource provides searchable archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. Contains digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
[More details]1851 - current (three year embargo. Please use "ProQuest Newsstand" to access the most recent three years).
Time Magazine Archive
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects. Intended to be read in under an hour, each issue of Time contains reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment.
[More details]March 1923 through December 2000
1890-1982, indexes popular magazines. Allows one user at a time. Please try again later if you cannot access this resource.
HarpWeek
The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II full text of Harper's Weekly, 1857-1877.
[More details]Full text of Harper's Weekly, 1857 - 1877.
American Memory Project
Images, videos, and presentations compiled by the U.S. Library of Congress related to American history.
[More details]Digital collection of the Library of Congress.
ARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5+ million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
[More details]
American Rhetoric
Database of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events.
[More details]Video, audio and transcripts of major speeches.
CQ Historic Documents Series Online
Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 38 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
[More details]
Public Papers of the Presidents
Online versions of the papers of Presidents from Ronald Reagan to the present. Print copies of presidential papers back to the Teddy Roosevelt administration are in the library's General Collection J82.
[More details]
Treaties and Agreements Library - United States
This library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published.
[More details]
Foreign Relations of the United States (Department of State)
Resource provides access to U.S. foreign relation documents from the Department of State's website.
[More details]1945-1980.
1861-1960.
Making Of The Modern World
Provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the periods 1450-1850, 1851-1914, and 1890-1945 provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.
[More details]
Milestone documents of American leadersReference E173 .M623 2009
Milestone documents in African American historyReference E184.6 .M55 2010
Milestone documents in American history
The state records of North Carolina Reference F251 .N6
Searching Beyond Randall Library
is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.
[More details]Need Help?
History Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me:
Finding Books on the Shelf
Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed.
Library of Congress Classification (LC)
Randall Library help page for Library of Congress catalog classifications.
[More details]Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]