U.S. Civil War Health & Medicine

NOT PUBLISHED

Subject:

History

Semester and Year:

Spring 2022

Selected Relevant Books

African American Medicine in Washington D.C.: Healing the Capitol During the Civil War Era
E621 .B888 2014

Microbes and Minie Balls: an Annotated Bibliography of Civil War Medicine
E621 .F73 1993

The Encyclopedia of U.S. Civil War Medicine

Civil War Medicine: A Surgeon's Diary
E621 .C585 2019eb

Recollections of a Civil War Medicine Cadet
E621 .W553 2017

Learning from the Wounded: the Civil War and the Rise of American Medical Science
R151 .D48 2013

Gangrene and Glory: Medical Care During the American Civil War
E621 .F84 1998

Shooting Soldiers: Civil War Medical Photography
TR820.6 .B87 2011

Civil War Pharmacy: A History

A Woman Doctor's Civil War: Esther Hill Hawks' Diary
E621 .H36 1984

Women at the Front: Hospital Workers in Civil War America
E621 .S35 2004

Worth a Dozen Men: Women and Nursing in the Civil War South

Search the Library Catalog

Relevant Primary Source Collections

Gale Primary Sources

Allows users to search across all of Randall Library’s Gale primary source collections:

[More details]

Historical Images in Medicine

Collections encompass over 3,000 photographs, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of the health and life sciences.

[More details]

Making of America (Cornell)

Provides full-text access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles related to 19th century American history.

[More details]

Medical Heritage Library

Provides open access to historical resources in medicine.

[More details]

National Library of Medicine Digital Collections

Digital Collections provides access to the National Library of Medicine's distinctive digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care and the history of medicine.

[More details]

National Library of Medicine Digital Projects

This source contains historical and contemporary resources for research and education. It features NLM's online exhibitions and links to NLM's digital projects, which are sorted by date or subject.

[More details]

National Museum of Civil War Medicine: Primary Sources

Follow in the footsteps of soldiers and surgeons to discover the harsh conditions, personal sacrifices, and brilliant innovations of Civil War medicine, innovations that continue to save lives today.

[More details]

World Health Organization Historical Collection

The Rare Book Collection consists largely of documentation acquired by the OIHP on epidemics included in the International Sanitary Conventions such as plague, cholera and yellow fever.

Materials covering smallpox, malaria and other diseases prevalent at the beginning of the XX century, are also included. The oldest book on plague dates from 1507 while the oldest treatise on epidemiology was published in 1518.

[More details]

Relevant Secondary Source Databases

America: History & Life

Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]

Health & Medical Collection

Offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

[More details]

JSTOR

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.

[More details]

Military and Government Collection

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

[More details]

Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]

PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

[More details]

Portrait of Clara H. Barton

Photograph of Clara H. Barton, Three-quarter length, seated, full face, one arm resting on table, the other in lap.
U.S. National Library of Medicine, Images from the History of Medicine