- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
U.S. Civil War Resources
U.S. Civil War Resources
Subject:
Get Started
Credo Reference - US Civil War
is a collection of reference articles related to the US Civil War
[More details]
ABC-CLIO E-book Collection
An essential English database that offers access to over 6,000 titles, including the following publications: American Foreign Relations Since 1600; American Slavery; Daily Life Through History;Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Authors; Historic Events of the 20th Century; Literature in Context.
[More details]
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Civil War
American Civil War : the definitive encyclopedia and document collection Reference E468 .A5329 2013
The Civil War era and Reconstruction : an encyclopedia of social, political, cultural, and economic historyE468 .S65 2011
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War : a political, social, and military historyReference E468 .H47 2000
Every day of the Civil War : a chronological encyclopediaSearch the Library Catalog
Civil War Subject Headings
Browse these subect headings and sub-headings. Click on the headings to find library holdings such as books, government documents, movies, and more. You'll also want to do a keyword search to find appropriate headings for your specific topic.
[More details]Primary Sources
- Search the Randall Library catalog (and other libraries) for history makers' names as authors. This should retrieve their memoirs, diaries and correspondence.
- As you search subject topics in the catalog, note that the following subdivisions indicate primary source (* indicates it can be used with individuals' names,classes of persons [e.g., soldiers], and organizations) :
- Archives *
- Caricatures and cartoons
- Correspondence *
- Diaries *
- Early works to 1800
- Facsimilies
- Interviews
- Newspapers [e.g., African Americans -- Newspapers]
- Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
- Pamphlets
- Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
- Photographs
- Pictorial works
- Songs and music
- Sources
- Speeches, addresses, etc.*
- Treaties
- More suggestions can be found on the "Primary Sources" guide.
Here are just a few useful free sources for U.S. Civil War primary sources
Randall Library - Special Collections
Here are our collection's manuscript finding aids and information about using Special Collections. Links to finding aids are also in the library catalog.
[More details]
American Memory Project
Images, videos, and presentations compiled by the U.S. Library of Congress related to American history.
[More details]
Brooklyn Daily Eagle, 1841-1902
Archival documents from Brooklyn, NY newspaper. Clippings date from 1841-1963 with most collected during the early 20th century.
[More details]
HarpWeek
The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II full text of Harper's Weekly, 1857-1877.
[More details]
Born in Slavery : Slave Narratives from the Federal Writer's Project 1936-1938 (Library of Congress)
Collection of more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. Volumes organized by state.
[More details]
Documenting the American South
Resource providing documents, images, and audio files related to the history, literature, and culture of the American South.
[More details]
Eastern North Carolina Digital Library
Resource provides searchable database of local history materials, historical fiction, maps, and museum artifacts related to Eastern North Carolina history.
[More details]
Making of America (Cornell)
Provides full-text access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles related to 19th century American history.
[More details]Includes 22 periodicals, 1815-1901, and 109 monographs. It also provides full-text searchable access to Official Records of the War of the Rebellion (both Armies and Navies series).
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
using letters, diaries, newspapers, speeches, church and census records, this site presents the experiences of two towns, one Northern and one Southern, from John Brown's Raid through Reconstruction. A project of the University of Virginia Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities.
[More details]
Making Of The Modern World
Provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the periods 1450-1850, 1851-1914, and 1890-1945 provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.
[More details]
Searching Beyond Randall Library
is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.
[More details]History Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me: