Randall Library Home

Below are some suggested starting points for your research in this class. Obviously, the sources you will want to use will vary widely depending on the topic you choose, so please don't limit yourself to the resources included in this guide, and contact me for further suggestions!

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2017
Course number: 
HST 522
Instructor: 
Fain, W. Taylor

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Search WorldCat

WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]

Search for Articles

America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]

Primary Sources

This is a non-comprehensive list of potential places to go for primary sources. Again, it will vary widely depending on your topic, but the below includes a variety of types of primary sources, including data and statistics, newspapers and magazines, correspondence, diaries, and government documents. 

19th Century UK Periodicals

19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.

[More details]
American Fiction, 1774-1920

American Fiction, 1774–1920, contains more than 17,800 titles and encompasses prose fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century. The collection includes novels, short stories, romances, fictitious biographies, travel accounts and sketches, allegories, and tract like tales typifying the development of American literature in a changing culture.

[More details]
American Periodicals

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Includes American Periodicals Series and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.

[More details]
Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity

The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis.

[More details]
Archives Unbound

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

[More details]
British Library Newspapers

British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers. The two collections combined contain nearly 3 million pages and 40 million articles. Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.

[More details]
CQ Historic Documents Series Online

Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 38 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

[More details]
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)

This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

[More details]
GovInfo.gov

GveInfo offers a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site. 

[More details]
HarpWeek

Harper's Weekly; the Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II

[More details]
Historical Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. Our access includes editions back to 1878. Need help? Visit Quick Start: Statistical Abstract of the United States

[More details]
iPOLL

The largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and US datasets available for immediate download.

[More details]
Making Of The Modern World

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.

[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

[More details]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 7,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources.

[More details]
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
Sabin Americana

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

[More details]
Slavery and Anti-Slavery

Primary source materials for the study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. Our access includes the collections Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery, and The Age of Emancipation. Includes newspaper collections, books and a broad selection of documents from several different archives.

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
Vanderbilt Television News Archive

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. They have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. 

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Social Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2058

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED