- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Civil Liberties in the United States
Civil Liberties in the United States
Subject:
Get Started
Constitutional amendments, 1789 to the presentReference KF4557 .C665
Encyclopedia of constitutional amendments, proposed amendments, and amending issues, 1789-1995
Credo Reference - Political Science
is a collection of reference books on Political Science (includes politics outside of the United States).
[More details]is a collection of reference books on politics and history, published by Congressional Quarterly.
Search the Library Catalog
When searching the library catalog for books, you can start with a general keyword search. Then, look at the records retrieved with your keyword search and examine the Subject Heading section of the records. These will help you find more useful books!
Some useful headings for your class may include:
Recommended Article Databases
These databases also contain other secondary sources, such as theses, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more.
America: History & Life
Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.
[More details]covers the United States & Canada.
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]is an archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
[More details]provides journals related to communication, mass media, and related fields.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.
[More details]offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences.
Coverage Dates: 1907-1984
Legal and Government Resources
ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.
[More details]
Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Usually updated the morning after session adjourns.
[More details]
HeinOnline
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.
[More details]
CQ Press Library
The definitive reference resource for research in American government, current public and international affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Search or browse across all CQ Press Library collections: CQ Almanac Online, CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Voting and Elections Collection, and Supreme Court Yearbook.
[More details]Primary Sources
In addition to these databases, you can search Google for primary source collections. Try your general topic and the words "archive" or "digital collection." You can also search in the Randall Library catalog for published collections of primary sources.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.
[More details]indexes some of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Coverage Dates: 1890 - 1982
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)
This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.
[More details]contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available.
Coverage Dates: 1945 - 2002; updated annually
FBI Records: The Vault
Searchable database of previously unreleased FBI records and documents. Contains 6700 documents and media.
[More details]provides online access to FBI files, some of which may apply to certain civil liberties topics.
Archives Unbound
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
[More details]contains a number of collections that may have content related to civil liberties, on topics such as Vietnam War protests, the Civil Rights Movement, federal surveillance of African Americans, Hollywood & censorship, etc.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Resource includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
[More details]includes full text of letters & diaries and bibliographies of women's diaries & letters yet published. It lists over 7,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources.
Coverage Dates: Colonial to 1950
iPOLL
The largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and US datasets available for immediate download.
[More details]
History Vault
Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Our collections include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life and Slavery, American Politics and Society and Women’s Studies.
[More details]includes digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials. Our collections include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life and Slavery, American Politics and Society and Women’s Studies
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis.
[More details]includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
Women and Social Movements in the United States - Scholar's Edition
Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.
[More details]Newspaper Resources
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Resource provides searchable archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. Contains digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
[More details]Coverage: 1851-2009.
Pennsylvania Gazette
Published in Philadelphia The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
[More details]is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
Coverage Dates: 1728 - 1800
includes newspapers from the late 1600's to early 1900's from Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia.
Coverage Dates: 1690-1922
HarpWeek
The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II full text of Harper's Weekly, 1857-1877.
[More details]
Historical Newspapers
This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:
[More details]History Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me:
Searching Beyond Randall Library
is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.
[More details]Need Help?
Finding Books on the Shelf
Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed.
Library of Congress Classification (LC)
Randall Library help page for Library of Congress catalog classifications.
[More details]Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]