Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

What is it?

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Created and hosted by George Mason University.

Advanced Tips & Tricks

IE Bookmarklet for Zotero

On mobile devices and in Internet Explorer on the desktop, the bookmarklet will save to your online Zotero library. 

[More details]
Groups in Zotero

The "Groups" feature allows you to share references with other Zotero users online. It's a great way to work on collaborative research projects.

[More details]
Alternative Syncing Solutions for Zotero

Instead of using Zotero's syncing features, you can opt for an alternative syncing solution. Here's how. 

[More details]
Endnote & Zotero

It's easy to use EndNote and Zotero together and take advantage of the best features of each, or to share libraries with colleagues. PDFs and other attachments do not export between programs, only citation information.

[More details]
Extract References from Word Docs

Upload your .docx Microsoft Word Doc to this tool, and it will extract your references as a CSL JSON, BibTeX, or RiS file. You can then import the resulting file to your Zotero library by clicking File → “Import…” and choosing “A file”.

[More details]
Journal Feeds in Zotero

The "Feeds" feature allows you to subscribe to updates from all of your journals and automatically add relevant articles to your Zotero library. 

[More details]
Annotated Bibliographies in Zotero

Using custom citation styles designed specifically to output annotation, you can create annotated bibliographies from Zotero.

[More details]

Need another citation style?

If you need a citation style not automatically included in Zotero, simply:

  1. go to the Zotero Style Repository
  2. search for the style you need (for example, MLA 8)
  3. with Zotero open on your computer, click on the name of the style you want to install.

The style will be downloaded and installed automatically.

More help.

Getting Started

To get started with Zotero, simply download and install

  1. the most recent Zotero software (for Mac, PC, or Linux)
  2. a plugin for your preferred web browsers (Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Safari, or Opera).

You may also wish to set up a free Zotero account to back-up and sync your files across multiple devices. (More help)

Adding Sources to Your Zotero Library

Zotero “watches” the pages you view to see if any of them contain citations to books, articles or other sources. When it identifies a source on the page, the Zotero Connector will display a type-specific icon near the address bar in the browser. 

Just click the icon and Zotero will automatically save the citation (and the full text of the source, if available) into your Zotero library. Notice that you have to have the Zotero software open on your computer for the import to work!

The Zotero icon in your browser will display in different places in different browsers:

Note: Like any citation manager/generator, in order for Zotero to produce accurate citations and bibliographies, it is extremely important that you ensure that each item is given complete and accurate metadata in the Zotero library, including classifying each as the correct item type. Often this will require manual edits. If Zotero contains incomplete or inaccurate information, your citations will be inaccurate.

More help. 

Adding Sources to Your Papers

After installling Zotero, you'll notice that there is now a "Zotero" button in Microsoft Word on your computer, as well as in Google Docs (only in web browsers to which you have added the Zotero plugin). 

These buttons allow you to automatically add your sources to your paper.

After you write a sentence that needs a citation, simply click "add/edit citation"  to add in-text citation (depending on what citation style you use, this may mean a parenthetical citation, footnote, endnote, etc).

After you are done with your paper,  simply click "add/edit bibliography"  to add your bibliography at the end of your paper. When you revise your paper, adding or removing more in-text citations, simply click "refresh" to update your bibliography.

Not seeing the "Zotero" button in Microsoft Word? Follow these steps to manually enable it: 

  1. In Microsoft Word, click on File > Options > Add-Ins
  2. In the Manage list (near the bottom of the window), select Word Add-ins, and then click Go.
  3. Under Global templates and add-ins (in the Templates tab) select the check box next “Zotero.dotm.”
    1. If “Zotero.dotm” isn’t on the list, then click add and select the plugin file  (which is found in  C:\ > Program Files (x86) > Zotero > extensions > zoteroWinWordIntegration@zotero.org > install > Zotero.dotm). 

Zotero Tutorial

Contact Librarian

Tammy
Ivins
Coordinator of Instructional Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2053

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

>> Short url for this page: lib.uncw.edu/zotero