Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Welcome to the Violin/Viola Page

violin

For more information, please see the​ Department of Music home page.

Databases

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Streaming audio database
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
With over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars, Grove Music Online (GMO) is the authoritative resource for music research
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
Streaming audio database

Websites

The Violin Society of America

The Violin Society Of America reflects a broad range of interests and concerns of those interested in violins and the art of making instruments and bows of the violin family.

[More details]
The American Viola Society

The American Viola Society promotes interest in the viola by encouraging performance and recording at the highest artistic level, by the continued study and research of our instrument and its repertoire, and by providing a vehicle for the ongoing development of the fraternal bond among violists.

[More details]
American String Teachers Association

The American String Teachers Association is a membership organization for string and orchestra teachers and players, helping them to develop and refine their careers.

[More details]
Violin Reference Guide

Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for violin repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for violin related sources.

[More details]
Viola Reference Guide

Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for viola repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for viola related sources.

[More details]
String Ensemble Reference Guide

A guide designed to help you find music for ensembles that include string instruments.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

If you wish to schedule research help, please feel free to email me or book a consultation here. Beth Thompson bookings.

Using the Library Catalog

Below are general call number ranges for Shelf Browsing:

Violin

M40-M44 Violin solo
M217-M223 Violin with piano accompaniment
M286-M287 Duets-- two string instruments
M290-M291 Duets-- wind and string instruments
M1012 Concertos with orchestra
M1013 Concertos with orchestra (arranged)
M1112 Concertos with string orchestra
M1113 Concertos with string orchestra (arranged)
ML800-802 History and criticism, construction
MT260-MT272 Studies and methods
MT266 Orchestral excerpts

Viola

M45-M49 Viola solo
M224-M228 Viola with piano accompaniment
M286-M287 Duets-- two string instruments
M290-M291 Duets-- wind and string instruments
M1014 Concertos with orchestra
M1015 Concertos with orchestra (arranged)
M1114 Concertos with string orchestra
M1115 Concertos with string orchestra (arranged)
ML900 History
MT280-MT298 Studies and methods
MT286 Orchestral excerpts

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.