Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Welcome to the Vocal Music Page

By Rick Doble (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC BY-SA 4.0-3.0-2.5-2.0-1.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0-3.0-2.5-2.0-1.0)], via Wikimedia CommonsThese resources are a great place to start your research. You'll find information about    the people, places, events and concepts that have shaped vocal music.

Article Databases

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Use the box below for faster searching options.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

[More details]
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

Video Subscriptions

Met Opera On Demand

Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access" version —including dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935

[More details]
Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access" version —including dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935
Medici.tv

Live and archived performances, documentaries and artists profiles.

[More details]
Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus is an excellent resource that reveals the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, our documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium.

[More details]
A unique collection of opera and symphony performances from the London Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Opera House, Gran Teatre del Liceu and Glyndebourne.
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
The Music and Dance Video Collection found in the Films On Demand database, contains over 660 titles and included popular music, music history and world music.
Filmakers Library Online

An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

[More details]
A collection of documentaries of many subjects including music, composers, musicians and the performing arts.

Common Call Numbers for Browsing

Click below to view a list of common call numbers for each category.

Vocal Music

Instruction and Study

Literature on Music

Where to look in the library

While searching for music items in the stacks on the second floor, keep this in mind:

  • M   = the music itself (i.e. scores, printed music, recordings)
  • ML = books about music history and literature
  • MT = books about music theory, music education, and instruction and study (including many method books) 

Music Indexes and Bibliographies

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

An essential database for foreign languages and literatures, the innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.

[More details]
IPA Source

IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and solo art songs.
 

[More details]
Music Index

Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

[More details]
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)

RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

Audio Subscriptions

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Classical Music Library includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library.
Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented.

Online Vocal Resources

The Aria Database

The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria, the Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions.

[More details]
The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias.
The Full English

The Full English Digital Archive is one of the largest searchable digital archive of early 20th century English folk arts.

[More details]
The Full English Digital Archive is one of the largest searchable digital archive of early 20th century English folk arts.
Art Song Central

An archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire.

[More details]
An archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire.
American Choral Music

American Choral Music, a collaboration of the the Library of Congress and the American Choral Directors Association, provides access to significant choral music in the public domain by the leading American composers of the time.

[More details]
American Choral Music provides access to significant choral music in the public domain by the leading American composers of the time.
HymnWiki

HymnWiki is a site dedicated to hymns, children's songs (those associated with churches and religion), religious anthems, church music, other music commonly grouped with hymns, and compilations of such.

[More details]
HymnWiki is a site dedicated to hymns, children's songs (those associated with churches and religion), religious anthems, church music, other music commonly grouped with hymns, and compilations of such.
Opening Night! Opera & Oratorio Premieres

This application is a cross-index of data for over 38,000 opera and oratorio premieres. Originally compiled by Richard Parrillo, entries include works that received a public performance between the years 1589-1995.

[More details]
This application is a cross-index of data for over 38,000 opera and oratorio premieres. Entries include works that received a public performance between the years 1589-1995.
Voice Reference Guide

Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for vocal repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for vocal related sources.

[More details]
Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for vocal repertoire.
The Metropolitan Opera Live in HD

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute: The Metropolitan Opera - Live in HD 2014/2015 calendar of film presentations.

[More details]
UNCW's Osher Lifelong Learning Institute: The Metropolitan Opera - Live in HD 2015/2016 calendar of film presentations.
Opera and Ballet Primary Resources (OBPR)

This website, hosted by Bringham Young University, is a great resource for finding freely available online opera and ballet primary resources.  The advanced search index will provide a number of search results to link you directly to the sources. Some of these sources include digital scores, libretti, and related documents.

[More details]
Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database

Developed in association with the Indiana University Digital Library Program, the Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database documents more than a half-century of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts produced in the United States.

[More details]