NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

US and North Carolina State Government Agencies

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies

Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more.

[More details]
North Carolina Agencies

A list of NC state agencies that may be useful.

[More details]

Newspapers

Newspaper Databases

is a complete list of Randall Library newspaper databases.

[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Atlanta Constitution (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the Atlanta Constitution from 1856-1984. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

[More details]
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the Chicago Tribune‎ from 1849 - 1994. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

[More details]
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection

Find historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research. 5,100+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s.

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

[More details]

Government Resources

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids

Educational resource for children and educators about the federal government.

[More details]
GovInfo.gov

GveInfo offers a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site. 

[More details]
Compilation of Presidential Documents

The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

[More details]
National Archives and Records Administration

News from the National Archives as well as links to guides and finding aids for its collections.  A selection of historical documents and online exhibits is also available.

[More details]
Library of Congress

"is the nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world."

[More details]
Smithsonian Institution

The Smithsonian Institution is the world’s largest museum, education, and research complex, with 19 museums and the National Zoo—shaping the future by preserving our heritage, discovering new knowledge, and sharing our resources with the world.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Places to Start

SIRS Issues Researcher

SIRS Issues Researcher delivers the pros and cons on today’s complex social issues. Critical current issues and enduring social issues are covered through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference material from over 1,800 national and international sources. All publications and are hand indexed to subject headings.

[More details]
U.S. History (Gale in Context)

Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. U.S. History in Context is cross-searchable with World History in Context .

[More details]
Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an online full-text library that covers all major subjects such as art, business geography, history, literature, music, psychology, social Sciences, and technology. It includes general reference resources such as dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to zoology. It offers easy keyword searching across the database of resources so you don’t need to know the title of a specific reference book to get started.

[More details]
SIRS Discoverer

SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology.

[More details]
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
National Geographic Virtual Library

This comprehensive collection includes National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, and National Geographic Kids, as well as a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.

[More details]

Other Databases

America: History & Life

Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]
CQ Historic Documents Series Online

Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 38 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

[More details]
CQ Voting and Elections Collection

A database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.

[More details]

National History Day Resources

National Archives - National History Day

The National Archives is the nation's record keeper. We hold billions of primary sources. Many can be incorporated into NHD research and projects. Use the resources on this page to get started.

[More details]
National History Day Resources - North Carolina Department of National and Cultural Resources

To help you succeed with your work, we've outline a few tips for getting started below. We've also put together guidance for each type of project and listed a few places you can go to started with your research.

[More details]
DocsTeach - National History Day

Use this special DocsTeach page from the National Archives to help your students prepare for National History Day 2020. Choose teaching activities to get them thinking about breaking barriers. Share primary sources for possible NHD topics.

[More details]
Society for History in the Federal Government - National History Day

Founded in 1979, the Society works to address common concerns, support shared interests, and stimulate discussion across the federal history community. The work of that community takes many forms, including documentary collections, historic preservation and interpretation, institutional histories, museum exhibitions, oral history programs, policy research, records and information management, and reference services.

[More details]
US House of Representatives - National History Day 2019

This year’s National History Day theme is Triumph & Tragedy. Below are sample topics pulled from our website’s exhibitions and publications, historical highlights, records, oral histories, collection objects, people search, and blogs. Happy researching!

[More details]

Other Sources

NCLive

Resources you can access with your public library card.

[More details]
New Hanover County Public Library

New Hanover County Public Library

[More details]
New Hanover County Public Library - NC History

is the website for NHCPL's Special Collections and Archives. They have both print/microform and digital collections. There is contact information on the page if you need to check to see whether they have materials related to your topic.

[More details]
Cape Fear Museum

Homepage for the Cape Fear Museum. Provides information on membership, volunteer work, upcoming events, museum history, and exhibits.

[More details]

Melissa Raymer

Portrait of Melissa Raymer
Melissa
Raymer
Education and Art Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Beth Kaylor

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Government Information
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED