Randall Library Home

This is a non-comprehensive guide to primary source databases and websites that should be useful as you do your research in this class.

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2019
Course number: 
HST 418/558
Instructor: 
Seidman, Michael

Newspapers and Magazines

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
Life Magazine Archive

The Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning from its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.

[More details]
British Library Newspapers

A comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries, providing a range of publications to reflect the social, political and cultural events of the times. The British Library Newspapers' collections feature London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism

[More details]
Current Digest of the Russian Press

The Current Digest provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia.

[More details]

Primary Source Databases

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

Includes papers, debates, and member profiles from the House of Commons and the House of Lords from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.

[More details]
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

[More details]
HathiTrust

Partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future

[More details]
Making Of The Modern World

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the periods 1450-1850, 1851-1914, and 1890-1945 provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.

[More details]
Archives Unbound

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

[More details]
Bloomsbury Food Library

Bloomsbury Food Library reflects the interdisciplinary nature of food studies, making it an essential resource for students and scholars studying food, on courses as wide-ranging as history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies. It offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more.

[More details]
Europeana

Contains millions of digital items (texts, images, video, and sound) provided by Europe's museums and galleries, archives, libraries and audio-visual organizations.

[More details]
European History Primary Sources

An index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. EHPS contains the major national digital libraries and many smaller series of e-sources and smaller digitization projects in Europe. 

[More details]

History Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED