Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Language Learning Resources

Below are resources that can aid in the learning of languages.

Mango Languages

Mango is an online language learning resource which includes a variety of resources to help students learn practical conversation skills for languages spoken all around the world. Lessons include strategically placed memory-building exercises to help users remember what they are learning in addition to critical thinking exercises, which help them to intuitively understand the language and adapt it to similar conversations. Follow the link to create an account with Mango to get started.

[More details]
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

An essential database for foreign languages and literatures, the innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Helpful Websites

Handbook of Latin American Studies

Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the Handbook is a bibliography on Latin American consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.

[More details]
Europeana

Contains millions of digital items (texts, images, video, and sound) provided by Europe's museums and galleries, archives, libraries and audio-visual organizations.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts, creative writing, English, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, music, philosophy, religion, and theatre. Including many art and art history articles.

[More details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Contains electronic resources for the study and teaching of Medieval and Renaissance studies.

[More details]
International Medieval Bibliography

International Medieval Bibliography is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East from AD 300-1500. It aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) published worldwide in over 35 different languages.

[More details]
Global Issues in Context

Global Issues in Context Integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search. The database is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. Users can cross search Global Issues in Context and the Opposing Viewpoints database, bringing together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources on a broad spectrum of international issues, topics, and current events. Podcasts, video, and interactive graphs enhance this database.

[More details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

[More details]
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean covers Latin American culture and society from the fifteenth century to the present day and provides access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. It also includes an archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad.

[More details]

International Newspapers

International Newsstream

International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
British Library Newspapers

A comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries, providing a range of publications to reflect the social, political and cultural events of the times. The British Library Newspapers' collections feature London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
Current Digest of the Russian Press

The Current Digest provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia.

[More details]
Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

[More details]
Westlaw Campus Research

A comprehensive database of legal materials including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. Includes articles from legal journals, detailed company and financial data, as well as state, national, and international journals and newspapers.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED