Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Language Learning Resources

Below are resources that can aid in the learning of languages.

Mango Languages

Mango is an online language learning resource which includes a variety of resources to help students learn practical conversation skills for languages spoken all around the world. Lessons include strategically placed memory-building exercises to help users remember what they are learning in addition to critical thinking exercises, which help them to intuitively understand the language and adapt it to similar conversations. Follow the link to create an account with Mango to get started.

[More details]
Pronunciator Language Learning

Language learning for 80 languages and ESL for 50 non-English languages, including audio lessons, interactive textbooks, quizzes, phrasebooks and pronunciation analysis.

[More details]

Helpful Websites

Handbook of Latin American Studies

Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the Handbook is a bibliography on Latin American consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.

[More details]
Europeana

Contains millions of digital items (texts, images, video, and sound) provided by Europe's museums and galleries, archives, libraries and audio-visual organizations.

[More details]

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.

Recommended Databases

MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
LexisNexis Academic

News, business, communication studies, criminology, foreign languages and literatures, legal and reference information.

[More details]
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

An essential database for foreign languages and literatures, the innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.

[More details]
ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts, creative writing, English, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, music, philosophy, religion, and theatre. Including many art and art history articles.

[More details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Contains electronic resources for the study and teaching of Medieval and Renaissance studies.

[More details]

Related Guides

NOT PUBLISHED

World Langauges Liaison

Von
Yeager
University Studies Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2053

Education

MLIS - University of Pittsburgh, 2007

International Newspapers

InfoTrac Newsstand

Gale's InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. It includes The New York Times from 1985 – present, selective historic full text from 18 North Carolina based newspapers, and selective current full text to another 15 North Carolina newspapers.

[More details]
LexisNexis Academic

News, business, communication studies, criminology, foreign languages and literatures, legal and reference information.

[More details]
ProQuest Newsstand

Provides access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from throughout the world.  The database includes backfiles for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other international, national and regional titles.  Comparable to EBSCOhost Newspaper Source Plus.

[More details]
Current Digest of the Russian Press

The Current Digest provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia.

[More details]