Randall Library Home

Below are some resources that should be useful for you when doing your research for your paper in HST 414/554 this semester. If you have any questions, feel free to get in touch with me (my contact information is on the right, under History Librarian). Good luck!

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2018
Course number: 
HST 414/554
Instructor: 
Mollenauer, Lynn

Finding Books

To find books on your research topic, use the library catalog (for books in Randall Library) or WorldCat (for books worldwide that you can borrow via interlibrary loan).

WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]
Library Catalog

Randall Library's online catalog. Search for books, journals, dvds, cds, government documents and many other resources held by Randall Library.

[More details]

Secondary Source Databases

These will be most useful for finding scholarly articles to support your argument.

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]

Finding Primary Sources

These are a few databases and websites where you can start looking for primary sources. This list is by no means exhaustive, so make sure to use Google and talk to me for other suggestions on your specific topic.

Making Of The Modern World

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the periods 1450-1850, 1851-1914, and 1890-1945 provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.

[More details]
HathiTrust

Partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future

[More details]
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

[More details]
Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Access includes Thomason Tracts and Early English Books Tract Supplement.

[More details]
Internet History Sourcebook: The Early Modern World

Selected sources and links to sources on the history of the early modern world.

[More details]
British Library Newspapers

A comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries, providing a range of publications to reflect the social, political and cultural events of the times. The British Library Newspapers' collections feature London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism

[More details]
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750

European Views of the Americas is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

[More details]
Papers of Sir Joseph Banks

The collection amounts to approximately 10,000 manuscript pages and includes correspondence, principally letters received, but also reports, invoices and accounts, journals, plus a small quantity of maps, charts and watercolors.

[More details]
London Lives 1690-1800

London Lives makes available, in a fully digitized and searchable form, a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London. 

[More details]
Aaron Thomas: The Caribbean Journal of a Royal Navy Seaman

The journal of Aaron Thomas begins on June 15, 1798 and concludes on October 26, 1799, and chronicles the experiences and adventures of a British seaman serving in the Royal Navy aboard HMS Lapwing in the West Indies during the French Revolutionary wars. 

[More details]
The Merchant Fleet of Late Medieval and Tudor England, 1400–1580

This website contains the details of English, Welsh, and Channel Islands merchant ships, and the voyages they undertook, between 1400 and 1580.

[More details]
Sabin Americana

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

[More details]
Encyclopedia of Diderot and D'Alembert Collaborative Translation Project

An ongoing project to translate articles from this important work of the French Enlightenment.

[More details]

History Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED